• Executive Council

    The role of the Executive Council is to advance the mission of the College by identifying and addressing the policy, procedural, advocacy, scholarship and accreditation needs of LaGuardia Community College. The Executive Council serves in an advisory capacity to the President.

  • Assessment of the Executive Council

    On an annual basis the Executive Council shall undertake an in-person self-assessment reviewing the following:

    • Did the Executive Council review the College’s stated goals and priorities for relevance to the College’s mission?
    • Did the Executive Council adopt strategic and short-term goals and review their progress?
    • Did the Executive Council review the College’s budget and recommend allocation priorities?
    • Did the Executive Council maintain agendas and minutes? 

  • Receiving Award

  • Responsibilities

    The primary role of the Council is to:

    • Review and approve the College's mission statement for relevancy and accuracy
    • Review and make final recommendations on strategic and short-term goals and initiatives emerging from campus-wide dialogue
    • Promote collaboration among divisions, departments and programs on College and University goals, initiatives and projects
    • Facilitate input from and communication with a broad-based campus and community population
    • Evaluate and recommend improvements to the College's planning process
    • Assess the College’s budget and recommend allocation priorities
    • Maintain records of the Executive Council’s agenda and minutes

  • Membership

    The Council operates in consultation with and under the direction of the President. The Executive Council is comprised of the President, the Vice Presidents of each Division and any additional members appointed by the President. The Executive Council shall meet on a regular basis and additionally as circumstances require.

    Members of the Executive Council

    Paul Arcario Interim President
    Nireata Seals Interim Provost & Sr. Vice President for Academic Affairs
    Shahir Erfan  Vice President for Administration
    Bartholomew Grachan Interim Vice President for Student Affairs
    Robert Jaffe  Executive Advisor to the President
    Janet Corcoran Vice President for Institutional Advancement
    Henry Saltiel  Vice President for Information Technology
    Oswald Fraser Executive Director of Human Resources
    Nava Lerer Dean for Institutional Effectiveness
    Hara Bastas President, Faculty Council
    Patricia Sokoloski Chair, College Senate

    Membership as of October 9, 2019