LaGuardia Community College Minutes of the Senate Meeting October 27, 2010

Present: S. Adhikari, N. Akter, C. Baldonedo, C. Bolden, J. Cantwell, L. Capuano-Vella, R. Chowdhury, R. Das, F. Egger-Sider, D. Escobar, H. Fernandez, M. Glick, P. Goodson, U. Hidle, R. Kahn, J. Karlen (for H. Fernandez until 3:30), H. Kuan, W. Kurzyna, R. Levine, A. Madi, G. McCormack, L. McShane, S. Mettler, E. Murray, P. Nicolov, A. Pappas, M. Qi, A. Wambugu-Cobb (for Eneida Rivas), M. Samra, C. Sanchez-Narvaez, P. Sokolski, L. Forrester (for C. Sterling-Deer), A. Tardy, L. Teplin, M. Wong, J. Wynn, B. Yearwood, Z. Yu (replaced by N. Berke at 3:30) Absent: G. Walters Excused:

Guests: J. Ianni (Parliamentarian), M. Majidi-Zolbanin, R. Sturtz

Nota Bene: For each action summarized in these minutes, the set consisting of those senators who participated in the action forms a subset of those listed as "Present". The specific vote of each senator that participated in an action is contained in the summaries.

Chairperson Kahn called the meeting to order at 2:35 p.m. in room E 501.

I. Approval of Minutes for May 26, 2010

By general consent, the Senate approved the draft version of the minutes of the Senate meeting held on May 26, 2010. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action.

II. Report from the Chairperson

Chairperson Kahn welcomed the incoming group of student senators, noting that it had been a hard-fought election. He also greeted the new senators from among the departments and divisions who had been elected to terms for the new Senate year. All members gave a brief introduction.

The Chairperson outlined the items to be introduced at the upcoming meeting. He asked that the Senate think about a follow-up to the topics of the need for a Children on Campus policy, a further discussion of the status of the Cooperative Education Department, and a revisiting of the issue of online courses. He proposed that the new Senate continue working in the three part committee structure initiated last year. Lastly, he asked for volunteers to staff the Committee on Committees.

III. Curriculum Committee Report

All of the following curriculum items were approved unanimously by roll call vote:

New Course Proposal, MAT 095E, Extended Introduction to Algebra - Department of Mathematics, Engineering & Computer Science

Revised Course Proposal, HUA130, Beginning Photography-- Humanities Department

Revised Course Proposal, HUA234, Color Photography -- Humanities Department

Revised Course Proposal, HUN191, Photojournalism--Humanities Department

Revised Course Proposal, SCX105, Radiographic Procedures I--Health Sciences Department

Curriculum Change Proposal, Engineering Program, Department of Mathematics, Engineering & Computer Science

Final Curriculum Memorandum, Commercial Photography, Humanities Department

Memorandum re: Digital Photography Option, Humanities Department

New Course Proposal, ELS215, Introduction to Hispanic Literature, Department of Education and Language Acquisition

Experimental Course Proposal, ELI 107, Italian for Spanish-Speaking Students I, Department of Education and Language Acquisition

Presented by Prof. John Shean, Chairperson of the Curriculum Committee

IV. Election of 2010-2011 Senate Executive Committee

R. Kahn gave the floor to Senate Parliamentarian J. Ianni to conduct the election of officers. J. Ianni prefaced the voting by explaining the changes that had been made in the election process by the need to comply with the Perez decision, which basically requires full disclosure of all votes and procedures at public meetings.

J. Ianni stated that the present Senate needed an absolute majority, 21 votes, to declare a winner of any elected office.

There being only one nominee for the office of Chairperson, R. Kahn, J. Ianni instructed that the secretary, W. Kurzyna, cast a ballot representing the votes of all present as recorded in the attendance list recorded above and eligible to vote for R. Kahn as Chairperson. This motion was seconded and accepted, and Mr. Kahn was elected to a new term as Chairperson.

There were four nominations made for the office of Vice-Chairperson: S. Adhikari, A. Pappas, E. Rivas, and B. Yearwood. Although not present, Senator Rivas was approved as a candidate by J. Ianni. On the first ballot, B. Yearwood received 17 votes, S. Adhikari 12, E. Rivas 5, and A. Pappas 3. A second ballot had the following results: B.Yearwood 20, S.Adhikari 14, A. Pappas 1, E.Rivas 1. On the third ballot, E. Rivas's name was withdrawn, and B. Yearwood was elected to Vice-Chairperson. The vote count was: B. Yearwood 22, A. Pappas 13, and S Adhikari, 0.

There being only one nominee for Secretary, F. Egger-Sider, the same procedure followed for the election of Senator Egger-Sider by unanimous vote cast as representing all voting members was followed, and F. Egger-Sider was elected Secretary.

There were four nominations for the two At-Large Student Seats: S. Adhikari, D. Escobar, C. Sanchez-Narvaez, and A. Tardy. A. Tardy was elected to one of the seats on the first ballot, and

C. Sanchez was elected to the second on the second ballot. The vote totals for the first ballot were: A. Tardy 21, C. Sanchez-Narvaez 8, S. Adhikari 13, and D. Escobar 11. On the second ballot, the totals were: C. Sanchez-Narvaez 18, D. Escobar, 15, and S. Adhikari 7. A third ballot was not cast, as both S. Adhikari and D. Escobar withdrew, making C. Sanchez-Narvaez the winner of the second student seat, following the process used above of the Secretary casting a single ballot on behalf of all voting members.

There were three nominees for the two At-Large Instructional Staff, Alumni & Civil Service Seats: A. Pappas, E. Rivas (again ruled eligible to run in absentia) and P. Sokolski. On the first ballot the totals were: E. Rivas 25, P. Sokolski 23, and A. Pappas 16. E. Rivas and P. Sokolski were elected to the two remaining at-large seats.

The meeting adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

William F. Kurzyna Secretary College Senate

Nota Bene: The Senate approved this final version of these minutes during its meeting of November 10, 2010.