LaGuardia Community College Minutes of the College Senate Meeting October 28, 2015 E242

Present and Voting:

Mohammed Rifat Amin (Student), Ahmed Ashraf (Student), Claudia Baldonedo (Adult and Continuing Education), Khadiza Begum (Student), MDS Bhuiyan (Student), Loretta Capuano-Vella (At-Large Instructional), Joy Choudhury (SGA President), Daniel Diaz (Student Affairs), Francine Egger-Sider (Faculty Council Seat), Monika Ekiert (Education and Language Acquisition), Ana Lucia Fuentes (Natural Sciences), William Fulton (Humanities), Natalie Havlin (English), Yunxi Hu (Student), Sheikh Islam (Student), Reem Jaafar (At-Large Instructional), André Keeton (Social Science), Charles Keyes (Library), Ayesha Khatun (Student), Rayhan Mahmud (Student), Allia Matta (English), Caroline Mendez (Non-Instructional Staff), Anthony Pappas (Alumni Association), Michael Philogene (Business & Technology), Eneida Rivas (Institutional Advancement), Ayana Simmons (Student), Patricia Sokolski (Academic Affairs), Lynne Teplin (Counseling), Jenny Zhu (Information Technology),

Guest Members:

Jerry Ianni, Parliamentarian

Meeting called to order at 2:52p.m. by Charles Keyes, Chairperson

I. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM September 30, 2015 MEETING

Senator Patricia Sokolski made motion to approve minutes with revisions; 2nd by Senator Caroline Mendez:

(i) Yea-27; No-0; Abstention-0(ii) MINUTES APPROVED w/Revisions

II. ELECTION-EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Jerry Ianni, Senate Parliamentarian, conducted the officer elections and explained the process to the membership. 7 members are to be elected. Each must be approved by a minimum of 19 votes.

i) ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

(a) Senator Loretta Capuano-Vella was nominated for the position of Chairperson by Senator Eneida Rivas. Nominations were closed by unanimous consent.

Senator Loretta Capuano-Vella was elected Chairperson by unanimous consent.

ii) ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON

CANDIDATES: Vice-Chairperson Patricia Sokolski was re-nominated for the position of Vice-Chairperson by Senator Lynn Teplin.

Vice-Chairperson Patricia Sokolski was re-elected Vice-Chairperson by unanimous consent.

ii) ELECTION OF SECRETARY

(a) André Keeton was re-nominated for the position of Secretary by Lynn Teplin. Nominations were closed by unanimous consent.

André Keeton was re-elected Secretary by unanimous consent.

iii) ELECTION OF AT-LARGE STUDENT

CANDIDATES:

- (a) Yunxi Hu nominated by Vice-Chairperson Patricia Sokolski
- (b) Sheikh Islam nominated by MDS Bhuiyan
- (c) Khadiza Begum nominated by Ayesha Khatun

1st Ballot:

- (a) Yunxi Hu-21
- (b) Khadiza Begum-15
- (c) Sheikh Islam-13

Yunxi Hu was elected At-Large Student

2nd Ballot:

- (a) Sheikh Islam-withdraws
- (b) Khadiza Begum-elected

Khadiza Begum was elected At-Large Student

iv) ELECTION OF AT-LARGE NON-STUDENT

CANDIDATES:

- (a) Eneida Rivas nominated by Lynn Teplin
- (b) Anthony Pappas nominated by Eneida Rivas
- (c) Reem Jaafar nominated by Francine Egger-Sider
- (d) Caroline Mendez –self nominated

Each candidate was allowed two minutes to speak to address the membership.

3rd Ballot:

- (a) Eneida Rivas-20
- (b) Reem Jaafar-18
- (c) Anthony Pappas-15
- (d) Caroline Mendez-withdrawal

Eneida Rivas was re-elected At-Large, Non-Student.

4th Ballot:

- (a) Anthony Pappas-14
- (b) Reem Jaafar-13

5th Ballot:

- (a) Anthony Pappas-16
- (b) Reem Jaafar-11

(Unanimous Consent to Postpone election of non-student at-large until November 11, 2015 meeting of the College Senate)

III. CURRICULUM COMMITTEE ITEMS

I. Senator Lynn Teplin made motion to approve items passed by CWCC on October 15, 2015; 2nd by Senator Caroline Mendez:

(i) Yea-25; No-0; Abstention-1(ii) CURRICULUM ITEMS-APPROVED

IV. CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT

- a. Charles Keyes:
 - i. Thanked the Executive Committee and the Senate Membership for their support of him as Chairperson for the previous 3 terms.
 - ii. Charles Keyes welcomed newly elected Chairperson Loretta Capuano-Vella as Chairperson and spoke of her qualifications for leadership of the Senate.
 - iii. Charles Keyes wished Chairperson Loretta Capuano-Vella well in her stewardship of the Senate.
 - iv. Chairperson Capuano-Vella thanked Charles Keyes for his hard work in leading the Senate.
 - v. Chairperson Capuano-Vella acknowledged Charles Keyes' success in making the Senate an active partner in the governance of the college.

vi. Chairperson Capuano-Vella stated her intention to continue to continue Charles Keyes' efforts to make the Senate a collegial, informed, active partner in the governance of the college.

V. OLD BUSINESS

a) Claudia Baldonedo spoke of the success of the ACE Student Mentor program.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

a) None

VII. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn made by Senator Eneida Rivas; 2nd by Senator Egger-Sider.

Senate Adjourned 4:52p

Respectfully submitted,

Andre feat no André Keeton

Andre Keeton College Senate Secretary & Senator, Social Science Department