LaGuardia Community College Minutes of the College Senate Meeting November 11, 2015 E242

Present and Voting:

Mohammed Rifat Amin (Student), Ahmed Ashraf (Student), Khadiza Begum (Student), MDS Cristina Bruns (English), Loretta Capuano-Vella-Chairperson (At-Large Instructional), Daniel Diaz (Student Affairs), Francine Egger-Sider (Faculty Council Seat), Monika Ekiert (Education and Language Acquisition), Ana Lucia Fuentes (Natural Sciences), William Fulton (Humanities), Anthony Hargraves (At-Large Adjunct), Natalie Havlin (English), Yunxi Hu (Student), Sheikh Islam (Student), Reem Jaafar (At-Large Instructional), André Keeton-Secretary (Social Science), Charles Keyes (Library), Ayesha Khatun (Student), Rayhan Mahmud (Student), Mahdi Majidi-Zolbanin (MEC), Allia Matta (English), Caroline Mendez (Non-Instructional Staff), Sylwia Niczewska (Academic Affairs), Anthony Pappas (Alumni Association), Jessica Perez (At-Large Instructional), Michael Philogene (Business & Technology), Fazle Rabbi (Student), Eneida Rivas (Institutional Advancement), Ayana Simmons (Student), Patricia Sokolski (Academic Affairs), Lynne Teplin (Counseling)

Guest Members:

Meeting called to order at 2:35p.m. by Loretta Capuano-Vella, Chairperson

I. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM October 28, 2015 meeting

Senator Eneida Rivas made a motion to approve minutes from October 28, 2015 meeting; 2nd by Senator Caroline Mendez:

(i) Yea-25; No-0; Abstention-0(ii) MINUTES APPROVED

II. CURRICULUM

Senator Anthony Pappas made a motion to approve the curriculum voted out of Senate-CWCC on October 29, 2015; 2nd by Senator Lynn Teplin:

(i) Yea-25; No-0; Abstention-1(ii) CURRICULUM APPROVED

III. ELECTION-EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

i) ELECTION OF AT-LARGE NON-STUDENT

The election of the final at-large non-student executive officer, postponed from the October 28th meeting after the 5th ballot, recommenced with the 6th ballot for candidates Senator Anthony Pappas and Senator Reem Jaafar.

6th Ballot:

(a) Anthony Pappas-14(b) Reem Jaafar-15

7th Ballot:

- (a) Anthony Pappas-14
- (b) Reem Jaafar-15

8th Ballot:

- (a) Anthony Pappas-15
- (b) Reem Jaafar-15

9th Ballot:

- (a) Anthony Pappas-14
- (b) Reem Jaafar-15

Senator André Keeton made a motion to table the Executive Election; 2nd by Senator Patricia Sokolski:

(i) Yea-30; No-0; Abstention-0(ii) ELECTION tabled

IV. CONSTITUENCY BREAKOUT SESSION

Faculty, Non-student Staff and Students gathered in constituency sessions to discuss those issues of concern to each constituency.

V. ELECTION-EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Senator Eneida Rivas made a motion to reconsider the election of the final at-large nonstudent position on the executive committee.; 2nd by Caroline Mendez:

(i) Yea-22; No-0; Abstention-0

(ii) Motion to Reconsider Election passed

Senator Eneida Rivas made a motion to postpone the election; 2nd by Caroline Mendez:

(i) Yea-22; No-0; Abstention-0(ii) ELECTION postponed

VI. OLD BUSINESS

(i) None

VII. NEW BUSINESS

- (i) Tenure/Promotion Forum Room E242 11/19/2015;230p-400p
- (ii) Academic Peer Instruction Program currently taking applications for Mentor/Tutoring Room E115A

VIII. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn made by Senator Eneida Rivas; 2nd by Senator Daniel Diaz.

Senate Adjourned 4:30p

Respectfully submitted,

Indie feat no

André Keeton College Senate Secretary & Senator, Social Science Department