# LaGuardia Community College Minutes of the College Senate Meeting

December 9, 2015 E242

## **Present and Voting:**

Omar Ait Hellal (MEC), Ahmed Ashraf (Student), MDS Cristina Bruns (English), Loretta Capuano-Vella-Chairperson (At-Large Instructional), Joy Choudhury (SGA President), Daniel Diaz (Student Affairs), Monika Ekiert (Education and Language Acquisition), Ana Lucia Fuentes (Natural Sciences), William Fulton (Humanities), Natalie Havlin (English), Yunxi Hu (Student), Sheikh Islam (Student), Reem Jaafar (At-Large Instructional), André Keeton-Secretary (Social Science), William Kurzyna (Faculty Council), Theresa Licari (Health Sciences), Evelyn Lowmark (Administration), Allia Matta (English), Anthony Pappas (Alumni Association), Jessica Perez (At-Large Instructional), Michael Philogene (Business & Technology), Eneida Rivas (Institutional Advancement), Ayana Simmons (Student), Patricia Sokolski (Academic Affairs), Lynne Teplin (Counseling), Sheikh Uddin (Adjunct), Jenny Zhu (Information Technology)

# **Guest Members:**

Meeting called to order at 2:39p.m. by Loretta Capuano-Vella, Chairperson

# I. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM October 28, 2015 meeting

Senator Eneida Rivas made a motion to approve minutes from October 28, 2015 meeting; 2nd by Senator Lynne Teplin:

- (i) Yea-23; No-0; Abstention-0
- (ii) MINUTES APPROVED

### II. CURRICULUM

Senator Lynne Teplin made a motion to approve the consent calendar; 2nd by Senator Eneida Rivas:

- (i) Yea-25; No-0; Abstention-1
- (ii) CURRICULUM APPROVED

# III. ELECTION-AT-LARGE NON-STUDENT

#### i) ELECTION OF AT-LARGE NON-STUDENT

The election of the final at-large non-student executive officer, postponed from the November 11<sup>th</sup> meeting after the 9<sup>th</sup> ballot, recommenced with the 10<sup>th</sup> ballot for candidates Senator Anthony Pappas and Senator Reem Jaafar.

#### 10th Ballot:

- (a) Anthony Pappas-8
- (b) Reem Jaafar-16

# 11th Ballot:

- (a) Anthony Pappas-7
- (b) Reem Jaafar-17

### 12th Ballot:

- (a) Anthony Pappas-8
- (b) Reem Jaafar-18

# 13th Ballot:

- (a) Anthony Pappas-4
- (b) Reem Jaafar-21

Senator Reem Jafaar has been elected to the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee consists of:

Chairperson: Loretta Capuano-Vella Vice-Chairperson: Patricia Sokolski

Secretary: Andre Keeton

At-Large Student: Khadiza Begun, Yunxi Hu At-Large Non-Student: Eneida Rivas, Reem Jafaar

### IV. CHAIR'S REPORT

- **a.** On November 30, 2015, Chairperson Capuano-Vella attended a meeting with President Mellow and campus governance bodies.
- **b.** The Chairperson indicated that there is an opportunity for dialogue between the Chancellor's office and the campus governance bodies.
- **c.** The Chairperson indicated a desire to have the Senate involved integrally in the budget process; particularly the strategic planning to which the budget is very closely aligned.
- **d.** The Chairperson discussed the planning for a CUNY wide governance conference. The conference is currently in the planning stages and will be geared largely towards a discussion of effective governance practices in the CUNY system.

#### V. UPDATE ON STANDING COMMITTEES/AD-HOC COMMITTEES

**a.** The Ad-Hoc committee on transfer updated the Senate on future committee activities focusing on educating and training college department curriculum committees on transfer.

# VI. OLD BUSINESS

a. None

# VII. NEW BUSINESS

a. None

Respectfully submitted,

André Keeton

College Senate Secretary &

Senator, Social Science Department